Some Glee and OCD

One of my favorite television shows is Glee. I enjoy the show because of the great musical performances and its coverage of some interesting and controversial topics in a humorous and positive manner. Like all shows, some episodes aren’t so great, but the majority, especially the first two seasons, are very good.

Below a is an example of one of my favorite musical performances. Since the video ends early, I’ll tell you what you miss. When the performance ends, the Glee teacher asks the guidance counselor to marry him. The guidance counselor, Ms. Pillsbury, is also one of my favorite characters. She has OCD, and the Glee teacher loves her so much that he is willing to marry her despite her many eccentricities related to the OCD.

Before the video, I wanted to give a brief overview of OCD. Here’s some information on OCD from Wikipedia:

Obsessive–compulsive disorder (OCD) is an anxiety disorder characterized by intrusive thoughts that produce uneasiness, apprehension, fear, or worry, by repetitive behaviors aimed at reducing the associated anxiety, or by a combination of such obsessions and compulsions. Symptoms of the disorder include excessive washing or cleaning; repeated checking; extreme hoarding; preoccupation with sexual, violent or religious thoughts; aversion to particular numbers; and nervous rituals, such as opening and closing a door a certain number of times before entering or leaving a room. These symptoms can be alienating and time-consuming, and often cause severe emotional and financial distress. The acts of those who have OCD may appear paranoid and potentially psychotic. However, OCD sufferers generally recognize their obsessions and compulsions as irrational, and may become further distressed by this realization.”

Now that you have a little background. Here’s the video.

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

2 responses to “Some Glee and OCD

  • Claudia

    If anyone has any comments for or against my post on glee, please comment. I’m struggling with the idea of being Christian and self-expression and watching the show.
    Claudia

    Like

  • Claudia

    I read this verse in a book by St. Josemaria Escriva, The Way, which has made me struggle even more with the idea of self-expression and being Catholic.

    “141
    You seem to hear a voice within you saying. ‘That religious prejudice!’ And then the eloquent defence of all the weaknesses of our poor fallen flesh: ‘Its rights!’

    When this happens, tell the enemy that there is a natural law and a law of God… and God!…”

    Like

You must be logged in to post a comment.

