Weekly Sunday Post: Vehicle

I took the photos below a couple of years ago when my family and I went to the Lone Star Flight Museum in Galveston, Texas several months after Hurricane Ike. The Lone Star Flight Museum houses various historic vehicles, mostly planes, used during the Vietnam War, World War I, and World War II. In 2008, Hurricane Ike hit the island of Galveston and caused massive flooding. The Lone Star Museum warehouses were not spared, and several vehicles that were not evacuated were damaged by the high water in the building. We were lucky that there were few people at the museum that day and one of the volunteer workers allowed us to go past a barrier to see items that were damaged by the hurricane. The damage was so bad that the Museum will be moving to Ellington Field in Houston, Texas in the near future. Ellington Field is a U.S. military facility that is further inland and not at risk of massive flooding from a hurricane.

An old Continental Airlines passenger plane and another plane beside an old truck. Three different vehicles side by side.

This plane was in World War II.

Here’s my son and husband following the nice volunteer worker that gave us a tour of the restricted area of the Museum. That vehicle to their right is a Vietnam-era helicopter.

The restricted area we were lucky to cross into.

Damaged plane.

Damaged plane parts.

I don’t remember from which World War these planes are, but they’re old.  They were among the planes that were damaged.

For more details and entries go to Jake’s blog by clicking the badge below.

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

11 responses to “Weekly Sunday Post: Vehicle

You must be logged in to post a comment.

