Remember

Since it is Memorial Day in the United States today, I want to honor the men and women who have passed away in the many armed conflicts throughout the years. I looked around for an appropriate song and video and found the one below. It helped me to realize and remember what these men and women have given. Under the video are two photos I took at the Memorial Courtyard at The National Museum of the Pacific War in Fredricksburg, Texas.

“Memorial Day is a federal holiday observed annually in the United States on the last Monday of May. Formerly known as Decoration Day, it originated after the American Civil War to commemorate the fallen Union soldiers of the Civil War. (Southern ladies organizations and southern schoolchildren had decorated Confederate graves in Richmond and other cities during the Civil War, but each region had its own date. Most dates were in May.) By the 20th century Memorial Day had been extended to honor all Americans who have died in all wars. Memorial Day is a day of remembering the men and women who died while serving in the United States Armed Forces.”

(from Wikipedia–http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memorial_Day)

Photos taken at a memorial for World War II fallen troops:

My son and husband looking at the Memorial Wall at the Museum of the Pacific War.

Memorial Courtyard.

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

4 responses to “Remember

  • fgassette

    Nice to see. Thanks for sharing and allowing us to remember.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  • Cookout: Saving money with potluck dishes and showing gratitude «

    […] Remember (motherwifestudentworker.wordpress.com) Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tagged: American Civil War, bahiyah shabazz, budget, grocery and budget, healthy cookout, Labor Day, Memorial Day, potluck, United States Armed Forces Posted in: Family ← Letter: What to do with additional money Be the first to start a conversation […]

    Like

  • orples

    My heart and thanks go out to every troop that ever died serving our Nation. I only wish the wars would stop, we’d bring our troops home, and let our young men and women carry on with their lives until we truly are asking them to sacrifice their lives for America’s freedoms. In today’s ‘illegal’ wars, that is simply not the case. It is so incredibly sad.

    Thank you Veterans for your courage,your patriotism, and your sacrifices.

    Like

  • Imelda

    It is good to remember. 🙂 Nice photos, Claudia.

    Like

You must be logged in to post a comment.

