The Unknown

I heard this song for the first time on the movie “Soul Surfer”. It really made me think about my struggles with anxiety. The fear of uncertainty and the unknown play a big part in the anxiety I have felt so many times in my life. Today, I still continue to feel it. But it stings less than it use to. It may sting more when I’m tired, upset, depressed, or stressed, but it doesn’t overtake me and rule my decisions as badly as it used to. I’m learning to push myself into the feared situations. Pushing myself, and practicing relaxation techniques, has helped me gain confidence, so my spirit, mind, and body can adjust to the tension some situations may bring. I guess I’m learning to “smile at the unknown”. Pay attention to the lyrics. I’ve also included the lyrics under the video. The surfing photography on this video is amazing. I’d like to know how it’s done.

“The Unknown” Performed by Athlete. Written by Carey Suthon Willetts;Stephen Alexander Roberts;Joel Laslett Pott;Timothy John Wanstall. Video by kimmyyloo.

Let your world be wide open
And your fears be blown apart
May your voice be louder than bombs
Somewhere in silence find one to trust

Lift your head up, untie the knot
My little sunshine hope is never light years away

Let your senses be ignited
By streams of neon singing in the dark
Connected to the planet
A million neighbors, a sea of stars

Lift your head up, untie the knot
My little sunshine hope is never light years away

Leaders, lovers come and go
Outside forces you can’t control
I see you smiling at the unknown
I see you smiling at the unknown

Lift your head up, untie the knot
My little sunshine hope is never light years away

Lift your head up, untie the knot
My little sunshine hope is never light years away
Hope is never light years away
Hope is never light years away

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

10 responses to “The Unknown

You must be logged in to post a comment.

