Weekly Photo Challenge – Free Spirit

“You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.
You’re on your own.
And you know what you know.
You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.”
-Dr. Seuss

The quote above sums up for me what it means to have a free spirit. Unfortunately, feelings like anxiety and depression can get in the way of that freedom to choose. Experiencing a heightened sense of anxiety and depression for most of my life has often muffled my experiencing freedom of spirit. However, experience has also taught me that the anxiety and depression are not forever and there’s always hope. Today, I began feeling a bit anxious and depressed. It has something to do with having to make a presentation in front of my graduate class next week. Of course, I’ll get the presentation completed and do fine; however, the anticipation is painful for me. As I sat in the living room watching a cartoon with my son this evening trying to not let the pain get the best of me, I recalled the latest WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge theme of “Free Spirit”. And I thought why not remind myself of what is possible. Remind myself that these dense, crushing feelings of depression and anxiety are not forever and are not the final word. Let me find a photo that shows me feeling completely free of the muffling effect of these two feelings. Below is that photo. It was taken by my husband during a trip to the San Antonio Missions Historical Park.

My husband took the photo above. He caught me showing my free spirit during one of our family vacations. Vacations tend to make me feel the most free.

Click on the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge badge below for more details on the challenge or to see other entries.

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

15 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Free Spirit

You must be logged in to post a comment.

