The Cave

“Behold! human beings living in an underground cave, which has a mouth open towards the light and reaching all along the cave; here they have been from their childhood, and have their legs and necks chained so that they cannot move, and can only see before them, being prevented by the chains from turning round their heads.”
-Excerpt from Plato’s Allegory of the Cave (From Plato, Republic, Book 7)

The song I’m sharing this week is a song called “The Cave” by a British band named Mumford & Sons. To me the song is about a person having a conversation with himself or herself about living a better life and not letting his or her challenges, fears, or faults bring him or her down to despair. Listen carefully to the lyrics. I’ve also included the lyrics below the video. I wasn’t able to find the original meaning of the song, but it reminds me much of Plato’s Allegory of The Cave. The meaning of Plato’s story is not clear either. And scholars dispute it’s meaning. When I read Plato’s Allegory, I see the story of people who are at one time blind to the truth and towards the end of the story they are given the opportunity to see the truth and wisdom by leaving the cave.

Lyrics to “The Cave” by Mumford & Sons

It’s empty in the valley of your heart
The sun, it rises slowly as you walk
Away from all the fears
And all the faults you’ve left behind

The harvest left no food for you to eat
You cannibal, you meat-eater, you see
But I have seen the same
I know the shame in your defeat

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

Cause I have other things to fill my time
You take what is yours and I’ll take mine
Now let me at the truth
Which will refresh my broken mind

So tie me to a post and block my ears
I can see widows and orphans through my tears
I know my call despite my faults
And despite my growing fears

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

So come out of your cave walking on your hands
And see the world hanging upside down
You can understand dependence
When you know the maker’s land

So make your siren’s call
And sing all you want
I will not hear what you have to say

Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

5 responses to “The Cave

You must be logged in to post a comment.

