My Hubby & Bipolar

This is my six word entry #19 for Six Word Saturday:

Is bipolar taking my husband’s joy?

 

I’ve been feeling very sad and disappointed with my husband lately. It doesn’t seem like he has any ambition or desire to do anything except work, watch TV, surf the net on his iPhone, eat, and over sleep. He seems like he hasn’t touched me, karate, or his musical instruments in months. I guess it has been much more than 6 months, since he really showed any ambition to change jobs, help around the house, go to school, teach guitar, or practice or go to karate class. He says there’s nothing wrong and he just feels tired and just wants to rest. We went to our regular psychiatrist visit a couple of months back, and he said everything was fine to the psychiatrist. I was tempted to say more, but decided to let some time past to see what would happen. Still little change. At one time he told me he was hesitant to practice karate because it got him worked up. (If you don’t know a little of my husband’s history, he has Bipolar I Disorder. And often I don’t talk much about it because he’s been stable without problems until now.) He was afraid the mania would take hold of him. I now wonder if that is why he has avoided the other areas also. Haven’t seen any significant mania symptoms for months. It feels more like a depressive phase. He doesn’t want to read or have any hobbies. I want him to be happy, but I don’t understand exactly whats going on or how to help without upsetting him. He doesn’t spend much time with our son either. That also saddens me. He says our son doesn’t show interest in him, but my husband doesn’t even seem to try much to be interesting. We still go out to eat the three of us and watch movies, but not much else other than go to school and work. I wonder what kind of example this is for my son. I really do need to finish school, so I can dedicate more of my time to my family. My son is doing well in school and he enjoys karate, gaming, reading, computers, and playing his clarinet. I believe he will be fine, he is a smart kid. I’m worried about my husband. He’s turning out like his father. Work and TV and that’s it. I don’t want him to do that because he is scared of the bipolar or for any reason. I’m not sure what to do. I just had to vent and type this short post to express myself and keep myself from getting depressed at my husband’s situation. I’m at work now, but I am having difficulty concentrating thinking about my husband. Feeling like crying because I love him and want to help, but don’t know how. Like always, I believe, my family and I will find a way to resolve this problem in a postive way, but right now (despite my own sucesses at work, school, and motherhood) I’m feeling kind of miserable.


What the Six Word Saturday Challange is about as described by Call Me Cate:

Want to play along? All that’s necessary to participate is to describe your life (or something) in a phrase using just six words. For more information, try clicking here. Feel free to explain or not explain. Add an image, a video, a song, nothing. I love seeing what everyone does with their entries.

Click on the “Six Word Saturday” badge for more Six Word Saturday entries and details for today.

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

18 responses to “My Hubby & Bipolar

  • buckwheatsrisk

    i’m thinking of you. i wish i had something that would help but i don’t xo

    Like

    • Claudia

      Buckwheat, thank you for coming by and thinking about me. Sometimes the mere presence of friends and family is enough even if you don’t have much to say. Thank you for your presence. 🙂

      Writing the post and reading and responding to the comments has helped. At first, I was a bit embarassed about having posted this post (that’s my social anxiety kicking in; still can’t shake that booger completely off). However, as I read the comments and responded, I started to see that it has given me the therapeutic effect I was hoping for when I initially thought of sharing on my hubby’s situation. I’m feeling more hopeful.
      Thanks 🙂 xo

      Like

  • Judy Loeffler

    I have a brother who is bipolar and it is a challenge sometimes. I also take a “happy” medication because I have had several nervous breakdowns. I agree you have to work at it. Maybe a different interest. Do you dance?

    Like

    • Claudia

      Bipolar and mental disorders can be challenging to both the person with the disorder and the people around him or her. In general, my husband does very well. He is able to hold a job, but his use of leisure time has changed from fun to a bit sad. Sometimes I wonder if it is something that I have done. Like spending to much time with work, school, my son, or the computer.

      I take the “happy” pills, too. I tend to be very sensitive and easily effected by my environment and people around me. The pill helps keep me stable and face the every day feelings of being human (happy, sad, mad, scared …).

      I don’t dance much. I’ve always felt self-conscious the few times I’ve been in dance situations. Those feelings don’t make the dancing much fun or inviting. I did take ballet as a child for a couple of years as a child when I was in elementary school. Your suggestion of dance. Brings up a good point that I need to get back on an exercise routine.

      Thank you for your comment and suggestions. 🙂

      Like

  • Linda

    So sorry. I hope things will get better. I will say a little prayer for you and your husband and son right now. I find peace when I turn to Jesus for help. May God Bless!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

    Like

  • mlissabeth

    Thank you for opening up to us. I wish I had something I could say that would help. Maybe you could get a recommendation for a counselor from your psychiatrist.

    Like

    • Claudia

      Sounds like a great idea; however, my husband is not very keen on the idea of opening up to a counselor. So it may take a great deal of effort to convince him. I plan to mention the idea of a counselor and the depression-like symptoms to the psychiatrist on our next visit. Thanks for your feedback and suggestion. 🙂

      Like

  • mlissabeth

    I meant his psychiatrist.

    Like

    • Claudia

      No problem. 🙂 It turns out that the psychiatrist treats both me and my husband. Him for bipolar and me for depression and anxiety. Usually, the doctor sees us together the same day for medication checkups.

      Like

  • Northern Narratives

    Maybe you can get him to do something with you such as a walk in the park.

    Like

    • Claudia

      Thank you for suggesting a walk in the park. Your idea reminds me that it’s been a while since my husband and I have gone out just the two of us on a weekend. We usually eat lunch together, every Friday, during my lunch break, but that is just an hour or less. Thanks for this comment.

      Like

  • jakesprinter

    Excellent work Claudia 🙂

    Like

  • My Hubby & Bipolar « Pathfinder: MotherWifeStudentWorker | Bipolar & Me

    […] My Hubby & Bipolar « Pathfinder: MotherWifeStudentWorker Tweet Share and Enjoy […]

    Like

  • McGuffyAnn

    This broke my heart. A heart to heart talk is in order, though it is easier said than done. He needs to hear this is about more than just him, it affects all of you deeply. You are in my prayers. Hug.

    Like

  • Better Safe Than Sorry « Pathfinder: MotherWifeStudentWorker

    […] My Hubby & Bipolar (motherwifestudentworker.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

You must be logged in to post a comment.

