Attempting to Capture the Moon

“Develop a passion for learning. If you do, you will never cease to grow.”
-Anthony J. D’Angelo

For a long time, I have wanted to get a nice picture of the moon, but I have never been able to with my iPhone camera. So Wednesday evening, I tried out my new camera on night mode in an attempt to capture the moon. Remember, I am a beginner with the DSLR camera. I have much to learn. And although my camera is for beginning DSLR users, it is still complicated. And I just got the camera a few days ago. In order to make the best use of my camara, I have been reading the Life Magazine Guide to Digital Photography by Joe McNally. One of the first things the author says to do is just get use to the camara on automatic or basic modes for the first couple of hundred photos or so. Then you can slowly learn the different technical settings. So that’s what I have been doing. Snapping pictures on automatic mode and letting the camara do the technical stuff. I think the photo below is my best one out of the nine moon shots I took. I was aiming for a simple photo of the moon. It turns out I got some sort of abstract painting looking thing with some wiggly lines in there. I’m not sure what caused the small white wiggly lines. And I captured a piece of the top of my house. But, I think the clouds and ring around the moon give a nice unintended effect. What do you think? Be honest. I have read that making mistakes on purpose is a good way to overcome anxiety. So, this particular post is a good exercise for me in overcoming my frequent fear of making mistakes in public while I learn about photography. One thing is for sure, I’ve learned that daytime or lighted indoor photography is easier than nighttime photography.

20121226-233701.jpg

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

3 responses to “Attempting to Capture the Moon

You must be logged in to post a comment.

