May Peace Post – The Art of Peace

“It is the function of art to renew our perception. What we are familiar with we cease to see. The writer shakes up the familiar scene, and, as if by magic, we see a new meaning in it.”

-Anais Nin

b4peace

“For the month of May, we will focus on art. I believe that art has the ability to transform the soul. If art can change a soul, then it can change the world. What piece of art makes you a more peaceful person?”

-Kozo of Bloggers for Peace

The May challenge for Bloggers for Peace is “the art of peace”. Thinking about what to post, I remembered something a coworker said to me several years ago. While working on my undergraduate degree in college, I had a summer job. One day as we sat at our desks, I noticed my coworker looked worried and exhausted. She had taken off her eyeglasses. I asked her if she was okay. She told me she was tired. Then, she went on to explain why she took off her eyeglasses. She told me that she liked taking her glasses off when she was stressed, so she could experience her world in a blur. She further explained that everything looked softer, more peaceful, like a Monet painting. This technique sounded great to me. I wear eyeglasses, and Monet is one of my favorite artists, so I started taking my glasses off when I felt tense. Since then, I’ve kept the habit of taking my glasses off when I feel stressed or tired. Truly, I see a more peaceful image. Not so sharp or painful. I guess, sometimes, you just need to escape a little to continue to deal with the world and find a little peace. Or maybe, you need to learn to see the world in a different way.

Below are some of Monet’s peaceful, soft paintings.

Peace be with you!

Unloading Charcoal by Claude Monet Unloading Charcoal by Claude Monet

20130526-001138.jpgRed Poppies by Claude Monet

20130526-001833.jpgTulip Fields in Holland by Claude Monet

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

12 responses to “May Peace Post – The Art of Peace

  • Ruth Nina Welsh

    I am a fan of Monet’s paintings – lovely to see them here today on your post. Claudia, I too take off my specs for peace! I also found it useful, years ago, when I had to perform or be on a stage as I couldn’t see the audience so well – it helped my nerves!!! Hope that you have a great week ahead, warmest wishes, Ruth 🙂

    Like

    • Claudia

      Ruth, I’m glad it works for you too. I never thought of using it for performing or being on stage, but I just might try it when I do a presentation for work or school. Peace! 🙂 Claudia

      Like

  • seeker

    It’s very true when you take those lenses off your eyes. I do it all the time. Monet pictures are awesome. Peace be with you, Claudia. Happy Trinity Sunday.

    P.S. Would you like to join Sunday Snippets?

    Like

  • Kozo Hattori

    I LOVE this, Claudia. Soften our vision to soften our hearts. What a wonderful daily practice. It reminds me of a term in Aikido called “blending.” We blend with the enemy to avoid conflict and control the situation. When we soften our view we blend with others, with beauty, and with peace. Thank you so much for this instructive post for peace. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    Like

    • Claudia

      Kozo,
      Thank you! Funny you mention aikido. When I was creating this post, I typed art of peace in google and found Morihei Ueshiba, the founder of aikido and writer of the book Art of Peace. I found some really good quotes attributed to Ueshiba. We sure can learn much from the martial arts. 🙂
      Claudia

      Like

You must be logged in to post a comment.

