T is for Teenhood

“Adolescents are not monsters. They are just people trying to learn how to make it among the adults in the world, who are probably not so sure themselves.”

Virginia Satir

My son is twelve years old. And I fear he’s already showing signs of teenhood. I know that sounds bad, but I still love my little one. It’s just the challenge of physical, emotional, and mental changes that occur during these years is scary and intimating. With this in mind, I’m reading a book called Conversations with the Wise Uncle, by Dennis E. Coates, Ph.D. (http://strongforparentingblog.com/), to prepare for the ups and downs of teenhood.  I am very grateful for finding this book.  It is an easy to read book loaded with useful, practical information for raising a teenage son into a healthy adult.  He has another similar book called Conversations with the Wise Aunt.  I plan to read the second book next.  I have two nieces in elementary school, and I want to be ready for their teenhood.  Below is a graphic I found on the development of the teen brain.  Although the graphic is based on a book by another psychologist, I think it’s a good illustration of the teen brain development Dr. Coates emphasizes in his book.  According to Coates, the pre-frontal area of the brain is initially immature and is under extreme growth and development during the teen years and will continue to develop and mature up into the early twenties.  What the teen is exposed to (physically, mentally, and emotionally) has a great impact on his or her success as an adult.  Coates’s books provide several chapters on how you can help your teenager prepare for teenhood and develop a healthy brain and life through awareness of the changes and challenges involved in the teen years, good habits, wise choices, listening, and critical thinking.

20130630-101002.jpg

Produced by Sharing Parenting. 2009 Brochure Design © tamibrown graphic design (01223) 236026. Source: ‘What Every Parent Needs to Know’ by Margot Sunderland

Part of my personal effort, no matter how small or simple, to post more on psychology and/or mental health; and to raise awareness of the mind and decrease stigma of disorders and illnesses related to the mind. Additional posts in this series can be found by clicking on the badge below.

A2Z Psychology2

About Claudia

Hi!! My name is Claudia. Blogging is sort of a creative/therapeutic activity for me. I blog about being a wife, mother, student, caseworker, and simply being human through photography, words, music, and blog challenges. Mental illness has also been part of my life, so you'll sometimes find mental health and psychology in my posts. I've dealt with anxiety and depression most of my life. And my husband has bipolar disorder. My hope is that I may show readers that it is possible for people to live positive, productive lives despite mental illness, challenges, or frustrations. View all posts by Claudia

4 responses to “T is for Teenhood

You must be logged in to post a comment.

